All We Buried

For fans of Julia Keller and Sheena Kamal, All We Buried disturbs the long-sleeping secrets of a small Washington State mountain town.

Buy Book

About the Book

A Sheriff Bet Rivers Mystery

Deep in the woods surrounding the Cascade Range, a canvas-wrapped body floats in a lake, right in Elizabeth “Bet” Rivers’s jurisdiction. Bet has been sitting as interim sheriff of Collier after her father’s–the previous sheriff’s–death four months ago. Everyone knows everyone in a town like Collier. She has made it her duty to protect the people she’s come to see as family. And she intends to hold her title in the upcoming election, but she’s never worked a murder investigation on her own before and her opponent and deputy, Dale Kovac, isn’t going down without a fight.

Upon unwrapping the corpse, Bet discovers the woman is from out of town. Without an identification, the case grows that much more puzzling. Determined to prove herself worthy, however, Bet must confront the warped history of Collier. The more she learns, the more she realizes she doesn’t know the townspeople of Collier as well as she thought, and nothing can prepare her for what she is about to discover.

 

Buy on Amazon

Barnes & Noble | IndieBound | Books-A-Million

The Buzz

“Three Strikes, You’re Dead gives us another vivid adventure with the quirky, genuine private eye Eddie Shoes. As usual, author Elena Hartwell’s characters are so real you feel like you could run into them at your local dive bar. Three Strikes takes us even deeper into Eddie’s complex family relationships with her charming-but-deadly father Eduardo and hilarious mom Chava, giving us further insight into Eddie’s psyche. The laugh-out-loud moments are many in this vital third installment, and you’ll find yourself wishing you could stay longer in the world of Eddie Shoes.” -USA Today bestselling author LS Hawker
“Three Strikes, You’re Dead is an exciting ride with a likeable protagonist and a wonderful cast of supporting characters. If you enjoy your mysteries with suspense and a touch of humor, this book is for you.” —Catherine Bruns, USA Today Best Selling Author of the Cookies & Chance Mysteries
“This one was hard for me to put down.” —Long and Short Reviews

Meet the Characters

Elizabeth "Bet" Rivers

Bet Rivers had left her small hometown of Collier, Washington, to see a bit of the wider world. Called back six months ago by her father, Bet takes over his job as sheriff. All We Buried finds Bet faced with her first homicide investigation and decisions that could determine her career and the direction for the rest of her life.

Alma

Alma has run the sheriff's station through three Sheriff Rivers and she isn't about to let Bet change anything now. Strong, confident, and not one to take "no" for an answer, Alma might just be the glue that holds Collier together.

Schweitzer

This Anatolian Shepherd knows Bet better than Bet knows herself. He's the best partner a newbie sheriff can have.

Elena Taylor

Elena Taylor spent several years working in theater as a playwright, director, designer, and educator before turning her storytelling skills to fiction. Her first series, the Eddie Shoes Mysteries, written under the name Elena Hartwell, introduced a quirky mother/daughter crime fighting duo.

With All We Buried, Elena returns to her dramatic roots and brings readers a much more serious and atmospheric novel. Located in her beloved Washington State, Elena uses her connection to the environment to produce a forbidding story of small town secrets and things that won’t stay buried.

Elena is also a senior editor with Allegory Editing, a developmental editing house, where she works one-on-one with writers to shape and polish manuscripts, short stories, and plays. If you’d like to work with Elena, visit www.allegoryediting.com.

When she’s not writing or coaching writing, her favorite place to be is at the farm with her horses, Jasper and Radar, or at her home, on the middle fork of the Snoqualmie River in North Bend, Washington, with her husband, their dog, Polar, and their cats, Coal Train and Cocoa. Elena holds a B.A. from the University of San Diego, a M.Ed. from the University of Washington, Tacoma, and a Ph.D. from the University of Georgia.

(Photo credit: Mark Perlstein)

A Story About

Mystery

All We Buried contains not just a mystery in the present, but also connects back to mysteries of the past. Join Sheriff Bet Rivers as she uncovers the secrets of her tiny hometown, unraveling multiple threads, to culminate in a powerful and satisfying ending.

Suspense

Unlike the humor in the Eddie Shoes Series, All We Buried brings a more serious and literary tone to Elena's storytelling. Called "atmospheric" in its writing, All We Buried places the reader in the dark forest, the deep lakes, and the craggy cliffs of Washington's highest mountain range. Elena peoples Collier, Washington, with off-beat characters, any of whom could be capable of murder.

Procedure

One of my favorite aspects of writing fiction is research. I love to learn about police procedures and the psychology of the criminal mind. While I use a lot of research for Chance Parker, homicide detective, in my Eddie Shoes books, it was both a challenge and a thrill to create a sheriff as the protagonist for All We Buried. I'm lucky to have experts in the field to call upon to fact-check my work. I'm grateful to all the experts who have helped me throughout my career.

Contact The Author

 

For media and press inquiries:
Sara Wigal
JKS Communications
sara@jkscommunications.com
(615) 393-6974

Blog